The archipelago state of Cape Verde is administratively divided into 22 counties or municipalities; in some cases, these subdivisions are named after one of the inhabited centers included in the respective territorial area, while in other cases they assume a different denomination.

The counties are in turn divided into fractions (freguesias). The counties are classified into two districts, corresponding to the sub-archipelagos of Barlavento and Sotavento; however, this subdivision has no specific administrative significance.

City of Cape Verde
According to the 2005 census, only three Cape Verde cities have more than 10 000 inhabitants: the capital is Praia, which has 113 364 inhabitants, Mindelo around 70 611 and Santa Maria, which has 17 231. Mindelo is the cultural capital of the archipelago .
The primary school in Cape Verde is mandatory between 6 and 16 years, and is free for children aged 6 to 12 years. In 2008, the net enrollment ratio for primary school was 84%. About 85% of the total population over 15 years of age is literate.
Textbooks were made available to 90% of school-age children, while 83% of teachers attended teacher training institutions. Although most children have access to education, there are still some problems: for example, many students and even some teachers speak Cape Verdean Creole as their mother tongue, and have a poor command of Portuguese (which is the language of instruction) ; then there is an insufficient expenditure for teaching materials and books; finally there is a high repetition rate. Between 2011 and 2016 a process of renewal of school books was started from the first to the twelfth year, thus replacing the textbooks of the 90s.

Search for properties

  • Basic information
  • (€). 0
    (€). 500,000
  • Details
  • -
  • Other
  •   Featured
  • Ordering
  •   Advanced search